Next Week

Dear Parents,

A couple of updates:

 

  1. We are starting math fluency practice. I send a separate email explaining the program.
  2. Tonight is the 80’s dance. Next Thursday, 2-4 is PE night. I will not be at the 80’s dance. But I will be at PE night. I hope to see you soon.
  3. Our Dojo hasn’t looked very good lately. We have been having a lot of problems in specials and lunch. Our main problem is talking. I have to give the class, as a whole points off on the dojo. Talking out of turn, and off task are our biggest difficulties. We have a lot of work to cover and we can only do it when we are active listeners. We cannot listen when we are talking and distracting others.
  4. Please read the 5 star homework. While it is optional, it does list a need for Feb. 12th, when we are celebrating Valentine’s day in our classroom. Please decorate a box and bring it by the 12th. I will also send home next week a class list so your child can start filling out their Valentines.
  5. Please read your baggie books too. It was great to see that almost everyone had their books to read to a buddy today.
  6. Please practice your sight words too. There is a direct correlation between the amount of sight words known and reading levels.
  7. This week’s phonics words are: smile, flame, blade, flake, plate, smoke, stove, stone, glove, bride, spine, slate

 

Next week’s topics:

Social Studies: Harriet Tubman/Light and Shadows

Math: Greater than, less than, Word problems

Phonics: silent e with consonant blends

Reading: Point of View

Writing: Opinion

 

I want to apologize to you and let you know that I feel every frustration with how much a First Grader needs to know these days. I will do my best to individualize, reteach and enrich my lessons. We have a lot to cover and I am very confident we can get there, but it will take a lot of hard work. I appreciate all the work you do at home and I wanted to let you know how much that means to me and to your child. If at any time you need to ask me a question, please email or call me. I hope you have a great weekend.

 

Donna Grecko